'Dweepa' best film, Ravichandran best actor

BANGALORE OCT. 3. Dweepa, directed by Girish Kasaravalli, has bagged the First Best Kannada Film Award from the State Film Award Selection Advisory Committee. While the producer, Soundarya, will get a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh, Mr. Kasaravalli will get Rs. 20,000. They will also be given gold medals. All the other award-winning films and artistes will get silver medals with cash prizes.

Announcing the awards for 2001-02, the Minister for Information and Health and Family Welfare, Kagodu Thimmappa, told presspersons here on Thursday that the Dr. Rajkumar Award, carrying a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh, would be given to Pratimadevi Shankar Singh, wife of producer and director, Shankar Singh. M.S. Rajasekhar was selected for the Puttanna Kanagal Award. He would get a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh. Rajanand, actor, was chosen for the Lifetime Award (Rs. 50,000). The committee chairman and veteran film director, U.S. Vadiraj, and other members presented the list of award-winners to the Minister.

The highlights of this year's awards are that Ekangi, produced and directed by V. Ravichandran, has bagged five awards. Mr. Ravichandran won the Second Best Film Producer Award carrying a cash prize of Rs. 75,000 and the Second Best Director Award carrying a prize of Rs. 15,000.

Mr. Ravichandran has been adjudged the Best Music Director (Rs. 10,000). The film also bagged awards for Best Sound Recording (L. Satish) and the Best Playback Singer (Rajesh). While Mr. Satish will get Rs. 10,000, Mr. Rajesh will get Rs. 5,000. Mr. Ravichandran has won the Subbaiah Naidu Award (Rs. 20,000) for the Best Actor for his dual role in Raja Mattu Vijaya.

Four films, Putti, Gandhada Gombe, Sri Manjunatha, and Kambalahalli, have bagged two awards each and Dweepa has bagged three awards. Soundarya has been adjudged the Best Actress for her role of Naagi in Dweepa and will get a cash prize of Rs. 20,000. The Third Best Film Award has gone to Neela and the producer and director awards have gone to Drishti Srushti (Rs. 50,000) and T.S. Nagarabharana (Rs. 10,000) respectively.

Gandhada Gombe has won the special award for a film making social impact and its producer and director, B. Srinivas and B. Shankar-M.D.Hasha, will get cash prizes of Rs. 75,000 and Rs. 10,000 respectively. Putti has bagged the Best Children Film Award and its producer and director, Medajit Creations, and B.R. Keshava, will be get cash prizes of Rs. 50,000 and Rs. 10,000 respectively.

The other award-winners are: Supporting Actor: Keremane Shambu Hegde (Parva); Supporting Actress: M.N. Lakshmi Devi (Kalla Police); Story Writer: Muniratna (Kambalahalli); Story: S.V. Rajendrasingh Babu and Ramani (Kotigalu Saar Kotigalu); Script: Tadur Keshava (Dharmadevate); Photographer: H.M. Ramachandra Halkare (Dweepa); Best Editing: Shyam (Kambalahalli);

Child Artiste: Master Vijay (Yuddha Mattu Swatantrya) and Baby Deepu (Putti), Art Director: Arun Sagar (Sri Manjunatha); Lyrics: Hamsalekha (Sri Manjunatha); Playback Singer: B.R. Chaya (Gandhada Gombe) and Special Prize for Technology, Dress: Prakash (Neelambari). No award has been given to any regional films.

Mr. Vadiraj said the selections were unanimous. Asked why Ekangi, which was re-shot and re-edited, had been given so many awards, he said technically, it was a brilliant film and Mr. Ravichandran deserved encouragement. Another member of the committee and veteran director, Joe Simon, said the committee was shown only one version of the film on the basis of which the awards were given.

Mr. Thimmappa said of the 30 films, 28 were exhibited and 16 were selected. The venue and the date for the awards presentation function had not been decided.

Mr. Vadiraj presented a memorandum to the Minister requesting the Government that the awards be named after famous film personalities. He said that films which bagged national awards should not be considered for regional awards and this would give a chance to other filmmakers.

Recommended for you