DMK wins three wards in Villupuram

VILLUPURAM Oct. 10. In the byelections to the four Town Panchayat wards in the district, for which results were declared today, the DMK won three wards, leaving the fourth one to Independent.

The results are as follows: Tirukoilur - Ward No 10: K.Premkumar (Ind) polled 484 votes and defeated T.R.S.Malaiyarasan of DMK (352 votes); Tirukoilur - Ward No.17: P.Krishnan of DMK (448 votes) defeated M.Rathinam of AIADMK (329 votes); Valavanur - Ward No.8 - S.Baskaran of DMK (450 votes) defeated M.S.Murugan of AIADMK (176 votes); and Vadakkanandal - Ward No.5 - C.Sekar of DMK (128 votes) defeated S.Kolanji of AIADMK (71 votes).

However, in the election to the Vallam Panchayat Union ward No.5 (general), V.Kathirvel of AIADMK (1,640) trounced D.Sundaram of MDMK (1,611) by a slender margin of 29 votes.

The following candidates have been elected Village Panchayat Presidents: Ramapakkam panchayat in Kandamangalam (SC-G) - Sankaralingam (806 votes); Arasamangalam panchayat in Koliyanur - Muthuraman (2,152 votes); and Chinnanerkuma panchayat in Mailam - R.Manikandan (1,278 votes).

At Parangipettai in Cuddalore district, Independent candidate— Narayanan (415 votes)-- pulled a surprise by defeating Malaimohan of AIADMK (335 votes) and Raju of DMK (143 votes).

Other results are as follows: Veppur Nallur Union Poolambadi Ward No.8: Selvi of DMK (1,734 votes) defeated Vasantha of AIADMK (1,033 votes); Gangaikondan Town Panchayat Ward No.2— Senthil of PMK defeated Alli of AIADMK.

Mangalur Union - Sirumunai Ward No 1— Pandurangan (308 votes); and Sirupakkam Kanchi Ramkulam Panchayat Ward No.2 - Subramaniyan (186 votes)

Cases against MP, MLA

Following a clash between the DMK and Congress men at the Erikarai Medu polling booth (were bypoll was held for Ward No.10) in Thirukoilur near here on Thursday, cases have been booked against the DMK MP, Adi Shankar, and the Congress MLA, Sivaraj.

The police said the cadres of both parties threw aerated bottles, and pelted stones at each other. In the melee, the windscreens of some buses were smashed. On complaints from both sides, the police have booked cases against the MP and the MLA.

AIADMK captures Ambur municipal ward

Our Vellore Staff Reporter reports:

The AIADMK captured the 14th ward of Ambur municipality, the lone municipal ward in Vellore district, which went to the polls in the local body byelections held on Thursday, and for which the counting was held on Friday. Of the two panchayat union wards which went to the polls, the AIADMK candidate won in the election to the 11th ward of the Nemili panchayat union, while the 11th ward of the Sholinghur panchayat union went to a PMK nominee, with AIADMK being relegated to the third place.

In the 14th ward of Ambur municipality, R.Venkatesan of the AIADMK, who secured 529 votes defeated his nearest rival, Nagarajan of the DMK (442 votes). In the 11th ward of Nemili panchayat union, which was reserved for women, the AIADMK nominee, Shanthi secured 1090 votes and defeated her nearest rival, S.Chitra (DMK) by a margin of 87 votes.

In the 11th ward of the Sholinghur panchayat union, the AIADMK was relegated to the third place, with K.Palani of the PMK securing 1314 votes, defeating his nearest Independent rival, Arumugam who obtained 1257 votes. The AIADMK nominee, M.Lakshmanan was way behind with 928 votes.

No elections were held for the fourth, fifth and sixth wards of the Melvisharam town panchayat since no nominations were received for contest in these vacant wards. Counting was also carried out on Friday for 21 village panchayat wards in the district, which went to the polls yesterday.

Thangaraj of the AIADMK secured 2806 votes and defeated his nearest PMK rival, Kasinathan (1369) in the by-election to the 8th ward of Thellar panchayat union in Tiruvannamalai district. This was the only by-election, which was fought on party basis in the district.