DMK wins all four posts

Staff Reporter

MADURAI: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam swept all the four zonal chairman posts in the Corporation. The four were elected unopposed on Wednesday.

R.M.B. Chinnan retained the leadership of West zone and V.K. Gurusamy is the new chairman of the East zone. K. Esakkimuthu and A. Manikkam are the new leaders of North and South zones.

The nomination of All-India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam's candidate for south zone chairman, K. Jeyavel, was rejected.

The Commissioner, D.J. Dinakkaren, conducted the election. The Mayor, G. Thenmozhi, and the Deputy Mayor, P.M. Mannan, greeted the winners. A few AIADMK cadres tried to block road protesting the rejection of Mr. Jeyavel's nomination. The police chased them out.

Recommended for you