Dinakaran's nomination accepted

THENI, APRIL 24. After a scrutiny of nominations, the district election office announced that 33 candidates including five party candidates are in the fray for the Periakulam constituency. Three nominations were rejected for technical reasons.

The rejected nominations were of P. Balasundararaj of Janata Dal (United) and independents — Ravi and Rajan.

Venkatraman, a lawyer representing the Janata Party president, Subramanian Swamy, today submitted petitions to the Returning Officer and Collector, Atul Anand, pleading rejection of the Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam candidate, T. T. V. Dinakaran, on the ground that he was a non-resident Indian.

One of the lawyers, who attended the scrutiny meeting, said the lawyers of Mr. Dinakaran quoted a High Court order issued on an election petition filed against Mr. Dinakaran by Selvendran, DMK candidate in 1999 polls for the Periakulam constituency, and said that his name was found in the voter list and was eligible to contest the polls.

The Returning Officer, after an hour-long scrutiny, overruled the petitions and accepted the nominations of the AIADMK candidate.

There are 33 candidates including party candidates, T.T.V Dinakaran (AIADMK) and J.M. Haroon Rasheed (Congress) in the fray.

Recommended for you