Demonstration against gagging of Press

Leaders and volunteers of the Congress, the CPI, the CPI (M), the Janata Dal, the RPI and the IUML staging a demonstration in Pondicherry on Thursday. - Photo: T. Singaravelou  

Pondicherry Nov. 13. Leaders and volunteers of the ruling Congress, the CPI, the CPI (M), the Janata Dal (S), the Republican Party of India and the Indian Union Muslim League staged a demonstration at the head post office on Rangapillai Street here today condemning the `Tamil Nadu Government's infringement of press freedom'.`.

The Pradesh Congress Committee president, V. Narayanasamy, the CPI State committee secretary, N. Kalainathan, the CPI (M) secretary, T. Murugan, the Janata Dal (S) president, E. Ganesan, the RPI leader, Leon and representatives of the Pondicherry unit of the Indian Journalists Union were among those who spoke.

Mr. Narayanasamy said the order of the Tamil Nadu Assembly against the journalists of The Hindu and Murasoli was a challenge to press freedom. It should be rescinded without delay. He charged the AIADMK with trying to dismantle the e identity of Pondicherry.