Deemed varsity status for three institutions

NEW DELHI MAY 9. The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Symbiosis International Educational Centre, Pune, and Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi, have been given Deemed University status by the Central Government; taking the number of such universities in the country to 55. The decision to was taken on the advice of the University Grants Commission (UGC). Though it comes into effect immediately, it is subject to review after five years.

Under Section 3 of the UGC Act, an institution of higher education "doing work of very high standard in a specific area'' can be declared `Deemed University'. Such institutions will enjoy the academic status and privileges of a university and be able to strengthen the activities in the area of their specialisation instead of becoming a multi-faculty university. In all three cases, the new status is applicable to associate centres. In the case of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, the status is applicable to its three multi-campuses — National Centre for Radiophysics, Pune; National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore; and Homi Bhaba Centre for Science Education, Mumbai.

Similarly with the Symbiosis International Educational Centre, the status of Deemed to be University goes to the Symbiosis Institute of Computer Studies and Research, Symbiosis Institute of Business Management, and Symbiosis Society's Law College.The Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan in the capital has also been declared so along with its eight multi-campuses at Allahabad, Garli (Himachal Pradesh), Jaipur, Jammu, Lucknow, Puri, Sringeri and Thrissur.

Recommended for you