AIADMK, DMK share honours in bypoll

CHENNAI OCT. 10. The AIADMK and the DMK shared the honours in byelection to local bodies held yesterday and today.

The AIADMK won 9 seats in the election for zonal panchayat ward members, while the DMK won 1 and the PMK 2.

While the AIADMK won the vacant seat in the Madurai Corporation Council, the DMK won the lone seat, where election was held for the Tiruchi Corporation Council.

As for ward members in municipalities, the AIADMK won 8 and the DMK, 5.

In the election for chairmen of town panchayats, the DMK won 2 and the AIADMK, 1. Of 30 seats in town panchayats, for which elections were held, the AIADMK won 11, the DMK 8, the Congress 2, and the PMK, the CPI, the BJP, and Puthiya Tamizhagam, 1 each. Besides, 5 independents were elected.

In three seats, AIADMK candidates were elected unopposed, and in two, DMK candidates won without an election.

Nominations were not filed in seven other seats, according to a release from the State Election Commissioner.