Results reveal notion of ‘bastion’ no longer holds

Special Correspondent

AIADMK could not win in southern districts, including Theni, which it won 6 times

CHENNAI: The Lok Sabha election results have shown that the old notion of ‘bastion’ no longer holds.

The PMK has been wiped out in the northern districts, while the AIADMK has lost almost all the seats in the southern districts.

The PMK contested in Sriperumbudur, Arakkonam, Tiruvannamalai, Kallakurichi, Chidambaram and Dharmapuri, all part of the so-called Vanniyar belt.

The party also failed to retain Puducherry constituency.

The PMK also could not help the AIADMK defeat the Congress in Arani and Cuddalore.

The AIADMK could not win a single seat in the southern districts, including Theni (earlier Periyakulam), which the party had won 6 times.

Though the AIADMK candidate Thanga Tamilselvan lost by a narrow margin of around 6,000 votes, the results would still come as a shock for the party.

The party also lost Tirunelveli, Thoothukudi, Ramanathapuram, Dindigul, and Sivaganga constituencies.

Even a high-profile candidate like MDMK general secretary Vaiko, who entered the fray as part of the AIADMK alliance, lost in Virudhunagar.

The only solace for the front was the victory of P.Lingam, CPI candidate from Tenkasi reserved constituency.

The AIADMK front, however, performed well in the western belt, at the cost of the Congress, which lost in Tirupur, Salem, Coimbatore and Erode.

In the Cauvery belt, cracks were visible in the DMK bastion, as the AIADMK front wrested Tiruchirapalli, Mayiladuthurai and Karur from the DMK front.

The party also lost one constituency in Chennai: Chennai South, which returned Union Minister and DMK candidate T.R. Baalu the last four times.

Recommended for you