Poll process hardly affected in Cuddalore

Special Correspondent

CUDDALORE: Regardless of the general strike observed on Thursday for the cause of the Sri Lankan Tamils, the election process went on as usual in both Cuddalore and Villupuram districts.

However, in both the districts buses, vans, and taxis were off the road. But for a few autorickshaws and share-autos there was not much of vehicular movement.

The strike did not have any impact on the functioning of the Neyveli Lignite Corporation as employees turned up for the shifts as scheduled. The shops and establishments, big commercial centres and vegetable markets remained closed.

The cinemas cancelled the morning and matinee shows. The educational institutions too suspended the classes and special classes for the 10th standard students.

Filing of nominations

On the penultimate day of filing of nominations candidates belonging to the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Lok Jan Sakthi (LJS) filed their papers.

For the Kallakurichi Parliamentary constituency 14 candidates filed nominations, and they included L.Sudheesh and Chezhiyan of the DMDK, Senthilkumar of the BSP, Anandan of the LJS, six from the Kongu Vellalar Peravai and four Independents.

For the Villupuram (Reserve) constituency three candidates, including G.Devaraj of the LJS, B.M.Ganapathi of the DMDK (he filed his second nomination) and an Independent filed their nominations.

For the Cuddalore Lok Sabha seat and the Chidambaram (Reserve) constituency two candidates each filed their papers.

They are C.Arokkiadas and his substitute K.Ayyappan (Cuddalore), and, N.R.Rajendran and his substitute R.Balameenakshi (Chidambaram).

Recommended for you