November 25 last date for roll revision: Gupta

Special Correspondent

Final rolls will be published on January 10

THANJAVUR: Chief Electoral Officer Naresh Gupta has said that November 25 is the last date for including names, deletion, and change of address in the electoral rolls which will be revised from January 1, 2009.

He told presspersons that people should utilise the opportunity and get their names included in the voters list as this is a crucial revision with Lok Sabha elections approaching. Final rolls will be published on January 10 throughout the country.

He also said that 99 per cent of the work is over with respect to distribution of Electronic Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) to voters. In the coming election, it may be the only authorised card for the voter to exercise his franchise.

At present, passport is also permitted. However, Election Commission will decide the documents that could be used at the time of elections depending upon the situation.

He said that booth agents of recognised political parties should get due authorisation letters from the parties and inform the electoral officers. They can bring to the notice of the officers regarding omission of names in the voters’ list. But they can’t apply directly.

He conducted a review of the progress in preparing electoral rolls with officials of Thanjavur, Tiruvarur and Nagapattinam districts here on Thursday. Jayasree Muralidharan, Joint Chief Electoral Officer, was present.

According to Collector M. S. Shanmugham, applications for effecting changes in the electoral rolls is being given at the polling booths in the district till November 25. Voters can give their filled in applications seeking changes in the voters list in these booths.

Fresh voters and those who want to change from one constituency to another can use form number six, those who want permanent deletion can use form number seven, for change of address within the constituency form number 8A and for other changes form number eight.

A total of 129 polling booths are functioning in Thiruvidaimaruthur Assembly constituency, 103 in Kumbakonam, 133 in Papanasam, 149 in Thiruvaiyaru, 97 in Thanjavur, 131 in Orathanadu, 120 in Pattukottai and 127 in Peravurani.

Recommended for you