Chidambaram files nomination in Sivaganga

My details: P. Chidambaram filing nomination papers with Collector Pankaj Kumar Bansal at Sivaganga on Thursday.

My details: P. Chidambaram filing nomination papers with Collector Pankaj Kumar Bansal at Sivaganga on Thursday.   | Photo Credit: — Photo: L. Balachandar

Madurai Bureau

Congress, DMDK aspirants submit papers for Theni

THENI: Both DMDK and Congress candidates came in caravan of vehicles to file their nominations here on Thursday. But the police halted them at the 100-metre stop point near the collectorate and allowed only three vehicles to proceed. Ostentation, pomp and extravagance marked their rallies.

Indian National Congress candidate J.M. Haroon Rashid and Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam candidate G. Santhanam filed their nominations. Mr. Haroon’s son H. Jasan Moulana was his dummy candidate.

A retired police officer turned politician G. Permal Samy (65), a native of Bodi and State General Secretary for Dhesiyavadha Congress and Madurai West district secretary for All India Forward Block, B. Allikodi (51) of Keezhapudhur, Usilampatti, also filed their nominations.

Besides, Independents - S. Thamizh Selvan (40) Pannaipuram, Uthamapalyam, R. Renganathan (35) of Poochampatti near Vadipatti, S. Rajavel (43) of Thenkarai Periakulam, K.V. Abdul Jabbar (46) of Devadhanapatti, representative of Indian National League, A. Thirumurthy (35) of Perunkamanallur near Peraiyur in Usilampatti – filed their papers. Another independent, S.P. Murugesan (45) of Uthamapuram, filed his papers for the second time. He had already filed his nominations on Wednesday also.


Nine persons, including seven independents and three party candidates, filed their nominations on Thursday.

Kongu Nadu Munnetra Kazhagam fielded K.M. Chellamuthu for Dindigul Parliament Constituency. His dummy was party district secretary P. Arulanandham. Bahujan Samaj Party candidate M. Srinivasa Babu too filed his papers. T. Dayalan of Lok Jana Sakthi M. Machakalai (31) of Alamarathupatti village, S. Mahamuni (45) Old Ayakudi near Palani file papers as Lok Jana Shakthi candidate. Nandhavanapatti, Maniganda Prabhu (29) of Nandhavanapatti, S. Thanaseeli, representative of Pengal Munnani, and P. Motilal, district coordinator, Minority Welfare Front, filed papers. Twenty candidates filed their nominations.


Four more candidates on Thursday filed nomination papers for the Ramanathapuram constituency.

While one candidate was from the Hindu Makkal Katchi and three others were independents.

They filed the papers before the Collector cum the Returning Officer R. Vasuki.

S. Jeyaraj (37) of Sitharkottai of HMK, S. Swartzdurai (37) of Veerambal, K. Selladurai (40) of Sivagnanapuram and K. Kalimuthu of Paramkudi were the candidates who filed nominations on Thursday.

The Bhratiya Janata Party candidate S. Thirunavukarasar and the DMK candidate J.K Rithish Kumar will file nominations on Friday, which is the last day.


In Sivaganga, six candidates including Congress candidate P. Chidambaram submitted their nominations on Thursday. He has filed four nominations for the Sivaganga constituency.

M. Rajarathinam (45), district Congress president, filed papers as dummy candidate for the Congress.

M. Subramanian (73) of Pudukottai, N. Baluchamy of Devakottai and R.G. Raja (25) of Ramanathapuram were the other candidates filed papers for the Sivaganga constituency with the Collector Pankaj Kumar Bansal.

Recommended for you