Champions again

Staff Reporter

TIRUCHI: Being Bharathidasan University champions in cricket is something special. For, the sport attracts the maximum participation from colleges. And the competition is much tougher.

Twenty-three colleges in Tiruchi zone, comprising Tiruchi, Karur, Perambalur districts, and 25 colleges in Thanjavur zone, consisting of Nagapattinam, Tiruvarur and Pudukottai districts, took part in the competition. Two colleges from each zone — Bishop Heber and St. Joseph’s (Tiruchi zone) and TBML and Khadar Mohideen College (Thanjavur zone) — made it to the inter-zonal semi-final league.

Bishop Heber College, with an all win record at the end of the semi-final league stage, regained the title. St. Joseph’s College finished runners-up.

The Bishop Heber College team is also the reigning Tiruchi District Cricket Association (TDCA) first division champions and, understandably, its Physical Education Director L.C. John is elated at the achievements of his boys.

“Our college has a rich cricketing tradition and we have produced some good players over the years. This team has lived up to our expectations and they are determined to continue the good show in the future tourneys,” he says.

J. Sudhakar, who scored 402 runs in eight matches including two centuries, and R. Ganesh, who scalped 13 wickets in eight matches, were the star performers for the winning team. Ganesh also took a hat-trick in the tournament.

“The two played exceptionally well in the event. Still, I would say it was the team effort that won us the title. The players combined well as a team when it mattered most and they thoroughly deserve the win,” John says.

Some of the players in the team play in the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) league and the experience came in handy for them.

Principal of the college M. Marcus Diepen Boominathan commended the winners.

Recommended for you