Candidates of major parties file papers

All particulars: DMDK candidate for Tenkasi (reserved) constituency K. Inbaraj filing his nomination with Returning Officer S. Nadarajan on Thursday.

All particulars: DMDK candidate for Tenkasi (reserved) constituency K. Inbaraj filing his nomination with Returning Officer S. Nadarajan on Thursday.   | Photo Credit: — Photo: A. Shaikmohideen

Staff Reporter

Seven nominees submit papers in Tuticorin, Tirunelveli, Tenkasi

Nagercoil: The election campaign has gained momentum in the district after candidates of major political parties, including former Minister of State for Youth Welfare and Sports, Pon. Radhakrishnan, filed their nomination papers on Thursday.

The dummy candidate for Pon. Radhakrishnan, S. Velpandiayn, president, district unit of BJP, filed his nomination papers.

Similarly, S. Austin of Desiya Murpokku Dravidar Kazagham (DMDK) filed his nomination papers. Two more independents S. Johonson from Vattakotai, T. Thangamani from Kanjampuram and Akhila Bharataha Hindu Maha Sabha district president, Balasubramaniyan filed their papers. DMK candidate J. Helen Davidson will file her nomination papers on Friday.

One of the election observers, Y.G. Agarwal (Commercial Department), deputed to supervise the election procedures for Vilavancode and Killiyoor taluk, visited the district on Thursday.

Likewise, two more election observers — Renu Pandh (to monitor election in Colachel and Padmanabhapuram) and Ramesh Kumar Kantha (to look after the poll proceedings in Nagercoil and Kanyakumari) — would visit the district on Friday.

Collector Kapil Kumar C. Saratkar held discussion with the officials to ensure the smooth conduct of election.


A. Sheik Mydeen, district secretary, Tuticorin (Central) Tamil Nadu Makkal Padhukaapu Kazhagam, which is in alliance with Lok Jan Sakthi, filed his nomination as an Independent for the Tuticorin constituency with the Returning Officer and Collector G. Prakash on Thursday.

H. Mohideen, State assistant secretary of the party, and H.M. Al Ameen, District Coordinator, accompanied the contestant.

T. Ponraj, lawyer, Tuticorin Bar Association, an independent candidate, filed his papers today. T.M. Prabu, president, Tuticorin Bar Association, accompanied him.


Five more candidates filed their nominations on Thursday for Tirunelveli and Tenkasi (reserved) constituencies.

The DMDK candidate K. Inbaraj, Samajwadi Party aspirant M. Jothiraj, and Bahujan Samaj Party contender K. Krishnan, all for Tenkasi (reserved) constituency, handed over their nominations to Returning Officer S. Natarajan.

Founder of Akhila India Maaveeran Azhagumuthu Kone Peravai S. Murugan and organiser of All India VOC Peravai and former Inspector of Police Sakthi. Chandrasekaran submitted their nominations to Returning Officer and District Collector R. Palaniyandi as independents.

Recommended for you