AIADMK candidate wins Pollachi Lok Sabha seat

V.S. Palaniappan

Coimbatore: The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) candidate K. Sugumar was declared elected from the Pollachi Lok Sabha Constituency on Saturday. Mr. Sugumar won by a margin of 46,025 votes.

He had polled 3,05,935 votes as against his nearest Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) rival K. Shanmugasundaram who had polled 2,59,910 votes. Of the 10.13 lakh voters,

Pollachi recorded 75.81 per cent polling i.e., a total of 7,71,831 votes were polled of which 352 votes were rejected.

Of the total of 2,528 postal votes, 1,863 went in favour of DMK while AIADMK polled 109 votes. 170 postal votes went in favour of Kongunadu Munnetra Kazhagam (KMK) candidate, Best S. Ramasamy.

Total 22

A total of 22 candidates were in the fray in Pollachi Lok Sabha seat.

The recently floated KMK candidate had polled 1,03,004 votes pushing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), candidate V.S. Baba Ramesh to the fifth place while K.P. Thangavel of the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMDK) finished fourth. BJP candidate had polled, 16,815 votes while DMDK candidate K.P. Thangavel had polled 38,824 votes.

Right from the first round of counting, the AIADMK candidate maintained a clear margin steering him to victory. The counting of votes took place at the PA College of Engineering, Pollachi.

Recommended for you