4 file nomination papers for Perambalur seat

Staff Reporter

PERAMBALUR: Four candidates filed their nominations for the Perambalur Parliamentary Constituency before District Collector and Returning Officer R. Sudalaikannan on Thursday.

They comprised G. Selvaraj of Bahujan Samaj Party, R. Sundara Vijayan of Samajwadi Party, and two Independents S. Annalakshmi and R. Ilangovan.

So far, 12 candidates have filed their nominations.

Napoleon to file today

DMK candidate and actor Napoleon, who will file his nomination on Friday, the last day, will take on AIADMK candidate K.K. Balasubramanian who has already filed his nomination in this constituency. The other serious contestant, Durai Kamaraj of DMDK, will also file his nomination on Friday.


Four independents filed their nominations on Thursday.


Eight candidates filed their nominations for the Mayiladuturai Lok Sabha seat on the sixth day of filing of nominations on Thursday before Mr. Ajay Yadav, Assistant Returning Officer at Mayiladuturai.

No nomination was filed before M.Jayaraman, Collector and Returning Officer in Nagapattinam on Thursday.

The candidates are: S.Karthikeyan (BJP), Govi.Sethuraman (BJP-dummy), M.Rajamani, S.Arivazhagan, M.Dakshinamurthy, V.Balaji, K.N.Jayakumar and S.Ganesan (all Independents). With this, the total number of nominations for the constituency has gone up to 29.


A total of 17 candidates filed their nominations papers for the Karur Lok Sabha constituency on Thursday. The list includes eight independents.

DMDK’s R. Ramanathan filed his papers with the Returning Officer and District Collector J. Umamaheswari at the district collectorate here. Party district president N.S. Krishnan filed his papers as the dummy candidate.

Then Kongu Nadu Munnetra Peravai candidate R. Natarajan filed his papers in two sets and the Peravai district president Visa M. Shanmugam filed papers as the dummy candidate for the organisation.

Following them the candidate for the Tamil Nadu Kongu Ilaignar Peravai T. Karvendhan filed his nomination papers along with his dummy candidate A. Kanagaraj.

Likewise the BSP’s R. Dharmalingam filed his papers as also his dummy candidate M. Krishnamurthy. Samata Party candidate S. Loganathan also filed his papers on Thursday.

That apart eight Independent candidates filed their papers and they included V.C. Arulmozhi (34), S. Manivannan (36), L. Srinivasan (41), R. Arul Rajkumar (33), A. Venkatachalam (62), A. Pandian (36), K. Sankar (37) and M. Palanisamy (34).


Mr. N.R. Rajendran of Bahujan Samaj Party filed his nomination for the Chidambaram (Reserved) constituency before Collector and Returning Officer Anil Meshram on Thursday.

His wife Balameenakshi filed her nomination as a dummy candidate.

There are eight candidates in the fray so far in this constituency where the main fight is between Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi leader Thol Thirumavalavan and PMK candidate E. Ponnusamy, the sitting MP.

Election Observers appointed

The Election Commission has appointed three officers as Observers for the Chidambaram (SC) Parliamentary constituency for the ensuing Lok Sabha Elections – 2009.

The officials, their telephone / fax numbers and the places from where they will function are: Sudha Chowdri, IAS, Tancem Guest House, Kayaralabath Village, Ariyalur Taluk, Telephone / Fax number - 04329-228320, Mobile – 99429 90777; Vivek Kumar Singh, IAS, Inspection Bungalow (Suthamalli Reservoir), Jayankondam Town, Telephone/Fax number – 04331 – 252001, Mobile – 99427 90777; and Umesh Kumar Goel, IC & CES (Indian Customs and Central Excise Service), Veeranam Illam, Guest House PWD Office Complex, Chidambaram, Telephone / Fax number – 04144-238338, Mobile – 99521 53364.

Mr. Meshram said that a complaint box has been placed outside the place of stay of each Observer.

Recommended for you