3 nominated members sworn in

PONDICHERRY, MARCH 24. Two vice presidents of Pondicherry Pradesh Congress Committee, Mary Theresa and S. Annamalai Reddiar and the Secretary of the Pondicherry State Committee of the CPI, Nara Kalainathan were sworn in nominated members of the Pondicherry Assembly today.

The Speaker M.D.R. Ramachandran administered the oath to them.

With the induction of the three members the strength of the Assembly here has risen to 33 (30 elected members and 3 nominated legislators).

Among those who greeted the three members immediately after they were inducted included the Chief Minister N Rangasamy, Ministers, the Deputy Speaker A.V. Subramanian and legislators. Mary Theresa is the only woman legislator in the present Assembly.

Recommended for you