13 persons file nomination papers in Tirupur

Staff Reporter

Tirupur: A total of 13 persons, including four dummy candidates, filed their nomination papers for the Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency on Thursday.

N. Dinesh Kumar (30), Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam candidate, was the first to file nomination papers with the Returning Officer, C. Samayamoorthy.

He was followed by D. Rathinamoni (All India Trinamool Congress); K. Balasubramanian (Kongunadu Munnetra Peravai); M. Sivakumar (Bharatiya Janata Party); C. Ganesh Kumar (Hindu Makkal Katchi) and S. Balakrishnan (Bahujan Samaj Party).

A. M. Karthikkeyean, a senior leader of Bharatiya Janata Party who turned dissident few days ago and quit the party, filed his nomination paper as an independent candidate. K. Venkatachalam and P. Balasubramanian also submitted their papers as independent candidates.

The dummy candidates who filed their nominations included R. Govindasamy (Kongunadu Munnetra Peravai); J. Manohar (BJP); R. Nataraj (BSP) and S. Subramaniam (DMDK).

Lack of adequate strength as well as posting of untrained personnel in the election cell in the Collectorate have been causing huge delays in pasting the details filed by the candidates in their affidavit on the Collectorate notice board for the benefit of public and mediapersons on a daily basis as per the instructions of Election Commission of India.

Recommended for you