Six win civic polls unopposed

Special Correspondent

PONDICHERRY: Six candidates were declared elected unopposed as ward members of commune panchayats in Kottuchery (T.Desingu from Thiruvettakudy), Tirunallar (S.Sathiamoorthy from Karukankudy and J.Radha and C.Suganthy from Surakudy), Neravy (from Keezhamanai) and in T R Pattinam (R.Ambiga from T R Pattinam south). All these fall under the Karaikal region which goes to polls on June 24.

Secretary (Headquarters) to State Election Commission G.Ragesh Chandra said at a press conference here on Thursday that eight members (including five women candidates) were also declared elected to the Villianoor commune panchayat in Pondicherry region.

The second phase of polls in this region is scheduled for June 27. Dr. S. Sundaravadivelou the secretary to State Election Commission

said that for the 42 wards contained in the Pondicherry Municipality as many as 327 candidates have had filed nominations.