Jayadev Puraskar to be conferred on film-maker, cinematographer


BHUBANESWAR: Versatile film-maker Sisir Mishra and ace cinematographer Surendra Sahoo were conferred the coveted Jayadev Puraskar, State’s highest honour for one’s contribution to cinema, for the years 2005 and 2006 respectively here on Thursday. Governor M.C.Bhandare presented the awards at a special function held to give away the State film awards for 2006 at the Utkal Mandap open air auditorium.

"Puja paine phulatiea", directed by Mr.Gadadhar Puty bagged five major awards - best direction, best story (both for Mr.Puty), best cinematography (Mr.Jugal Debata), best back ground female singer (Ms. Sreema Panda) and best child artist (Ms.Adyasha Mohapatra).

While Mr.Mihir Das and Ms.Jina were presented the best actor and actress awards respectively for "Pheria mo sunabhauni", the film also won the best screenplay award for Ranjita Mohanty. "Bhagyachakra" claimed the best music director for Mr.Om Prakash Mohanty, best background male singer for Mr.Ratikant Satpathy and best lyricist for Mr.Rajani Ranjan.

Well-known filmmaker Mr.Sabyasachi Mohapatra claimed the special jury award for "Jai Jagannath" that also obtained the best editing award for Mr.Rajendra Mohapatra.

Arindam as the best supporting actor for "Premarutu asilare" that also claimed best comedian award for Pintu Nanda. Nityashri Ranjan was awarded for best sound recording.

Archita, who was announced the best supporting actress for "Babu I love you", did not turn up for the ceremony protesting the jury’s decision. She claimed that her role was for the best actress category. The film also bagged the best art direction award for Amiya Moharana.

Culture Minister Mr.Surya Narayan Patro, Information and Public Relations minister Mr.Debasis Nayak and Commissioner of Culture Mr.Gopinath Mohanty were also present in the ceremony.

Recommended for you