Book fair panel announces annual awards

The Bhubaneswar Book Fair (BBF) Committee has announced its annual awards for the writers and publishers of the State which would be presented during the concluding ceremony of the ongoing BBF on February 22.

BBF Secretary Barendra Krushna Dhal said the Bhubaneswar Book Fair Puraskar for the year shall be presented to senior scribe and cine critic Surya Deo for his book “ Odia Cinemara Rupa Rupantara”, an anthology of essays on Odia cinema, published by Pakhighara Publications, Bhubaneswar.

The Rabi Patnaik Smruti Puraskar, instituted in memory of the late acclaimed short story writer to honour a promising short-story writer below the age of 40, will be conferred on Sunanda Pradhan while Suryamani Behera will be awarded as the best children's writer award for his book “ Ajankara Bigyan Pedi”, Mr. Dhal said.

Similarly, Atul Bal would be awarded as the best book cover designer while Subarnashree Prakashani shall be presented the best publisher of the year award, he said.

Special literary session

Sahitya Akademi, the national academy of literature, in association with the BBF committee hosted ‘ Asmita', a special literary session with women writers of the State at the exhibition grounds, the venue of the ongoing book fair.

While former Sahitya Akademi president and prominent poet Ramakant Rath inaugurated the session, popular novelist Bibhuti Patnaik chaired the session.

Writer-journalist Gourahari Das conducted the proceedings. Writers Runu Mohanty, Jyotsna Routray, Mamatamayee Choudhury, Iti Samant and Monaliosa Jena participated in the programme and read out their writings.

Four books published by the Akademi were also released on the occasion.

  • Rabi Patnaik Smruti Puraskar to be conferred on Sunanda Pradhan
  • Best children's writer award for Suryamani Behara

Recommended for you