Biju Janata Dal sweeps across Cuttack


Wins all Assembly seats, lone LS seat

CUTTACK: Proving all calculations and speculations wrong, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) swept across the Cuttack district winning all the nine Assembly seats and the lone Parliamentary seat of the district.

Party candidate Bhatruhari Mahatab won the prestigious Cuttack LS seat defeating his nearest rival Bibhuti Bhusan Mishra of Congress by a margin of nearly two lakh votes. Riding on Naveen Patnaik wave in the State Mahatab won the seat for the fourth consecutive time in a row.

Similarly in the Assembly elections, the BJD candidates won in all eight segments while the BJD supported Independent candidate won from the Athagarh segment. After the BJD nominee Ranendra Pratap Swain’s candidature was rejected, the party backed Ramesh Rout and Rout romped home defeating his nearest Independent rival Bichitrananda Muduli by a margin of 25,590 votes.

In nearby Badamba segment, BJD’s Debi Prasad Mishra, a former minister won the seat defeating S.K. Nanda of Congress by a margin of 38,186 votes. This is also Mishra’s third straight win from the segment. In Banki, the BJD’s Pravat Tripathy regained the seat snatching it out from incumbent Debashis Patnaik of Congress. While Tripathy polled 70,677 votes, Patnaik managed only 47,244 votes. The all important Cuttack-Barabati segment also went to BJD’s Debashis Samantray who won the polls in a stiff three-cornered contest. While Samantaray polled 52,097 votes, his nearest rival Suresh Mohapatra of the Congress polled 27,612 votes and former minister Samir Dey of the BJP polled only 15,131 votes.

The newly formed Cuttack-Choudwar seat also went to the BJD when party nominee Pravat Biswal, a former Independent MLA defeated his nearest rival Deepak Barik, also an Independent by a margin of 32,777 votes. The Congress and the BJP candidates here were never in contest.

Similarly in Mahanga segment, Pratap Jena of the BJD defeated old warhorse of the Congress Sk. Matlub Ali by a margin of nearly 30,000 votes. Jena polled 89,621 votes while Ali polled 60,402 votes. This would be Jena’s fourth straight entry into the Assembly as he was returning successfully from Kasannagar segment which was merged this time after delimitation.

The Niali (SC) segment of the district was also pocketed by the BJD when former surgery professor of SCB Medical College and hospital P.K. Mallick defeated Artatrana Mallick of the Congress by a whopping margin of around 50,000 votes.

However, the interesting results of the district came from Cuttack Sadar and Salepur Assembly segments when father-son duo of Kalindi Behera and Chandra Sarathi Behera won the seats respectively for the BJD.

The senior Behera, a former minister won the Cuttack Sadar segment defeating his nearest Congress rival Asima Mahanada by a margin of nearly 50,000 votes while his son Chandra Sarathi had a narrow victory when he defeated his Congress rival by a margin of only 1,277 votes. While Chandra Sarathi polled 66,375 votes, Congress’ Prakash Behera polled 65,098 votes.

Recommended for you