77 candidates left in the race

Special Correspondent

CHANDIGARH: Seventy-seven candidates of different political parties have been left in the race for the Haryana Assembly by-elections from Adampur, Gohana and Indri on May 22 after withdrawal of nomination papers.

The maximum number of 41 candidates including former Chief Minister and Haryana Janhit Congress leader Bhajan Lal are contesting from Adampur.

Twenty-three candidates are contesting from Gohana and 13 from Indri. According to data compiled by the Election Department, a total of 58 Independents are in the fray for the three seats. Adampur again has the maximum number of 34 Independent candidates followed by 17 (Gohana) and seven (Indri).

Recommended for you