4,385 file papers for panchayat polls

Special Correspondent

BHUBANESWAR: As many as 4385 persons have filed nomination papers for the 854 Zilla Parishad member posts in the State, the elections for which is scheduled to be held next month.

As regards the filing of nomination papers for the posts of panchayat samiti Members, sarpanches and ward members, 29,000 people have filed their nominations for the 6,201 Panchayat Samiti members posts barring the Bausdevpur Pachayat Samiti in Bhadrak district.

Besides, 35799 persons have filed nomination papers for 6,234 sarpanch posts and a total of 180355 had filed their papers for the 87542 ward member posts in the State, according to an Election Commission release.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers was done across the State on Tuesday after time for filing of nomination papers ended on Monday.

Candidates belonging to different parties use party symbols only to contest for the Zilla Parishad Member posts.

The final list of candidates contesting the coming polls will be known at the end of the time for withdrawal of nomination papers on January 19, according to the State Election Commission. According to the Commission, a total of 129 persons had filed their nominations for the 28 Zilla Parishad zones in Angul district and 232 persons had filed nomination for the 45 zones in Balasore.

As many as 64 nominations had been filed for 14 seats in Gajapati district, 285 nominations for 69 seats in Ganjam, 108 nominations for 26 seats in Jagatsinghpur, 175 nominations for 39 seats in Jajpur, 44 nominations for nine seats in Jharsuguda, 189 for 36 seats in Kalahandi, 72 for 18 seats in Kandhamal, 142 for 32 seats in Kendrapara, 226 for 37 seats in Keonjhar, 163 for the 30 seats in Khurda, 132 for 29 seats in Koraput, 93 for 15 seats in Malkangiri, 383 for 56 seats in Mayurbhanj, 114 for 26 seats in Nawrangpur, 128 for 24 seats in Nayagarh, 182 for 14 seats in Nuapada, 173 for 33 seats in Puri, 164 for 22 seats in Rayagada, 62 for 19 seats in Sambalpur, 62 for 13 seats in Subarnapur, and 178 for 35 seats in Sundargarh.

Recommended for you