NDMC reconstituted, new members appointed

The New Delhi Municipal Council has been reconstituted with the appointment of four new non-official members, who will be administered the oath of office by Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung on Friday.

In late July, the Union Home Ministry had decided to reconstitute the NDMC midway as it will facilitate the replacement of four nominated Congress members in the 13-member body.

Non-official members

Sources said the Council has been reconstituted with the appointment of former BJP MLA from Delhi Cantonment Karan Singh Tanwar, former MP and former Delhi Mayor Anita Arya, and B.S. Bhatt and Abdul Rashid Ansari as its non-official members.

They have replaced former Congress legislators Tajdar Babar and Ashok Ahuja, as also I.A. Siddiqui and Suka Ram.

In the newly-constituted NDMC, Jalaj Srivastava will remain the chairman while New Delhi MP Meenakshi Lekhi, New Delhi MLA Arvind Kejriwal and Delhi Cantonment MLA Surinder Singh will continue as non-official members.

This apart, the Council will also have some official members in the form of Home Ministry Joint Secretary I.S. Chahal; Ministry of Urban Development Additional Secretary D.S. Mishra; Ministry of Urban Development Joint Secretary Dharmendra; and Delhi Government Land and Building Prinicipal Secretary Dharampal.

Mr. Tanwar, who has been nominated to the council, a post which he held earlier for several years, will be a council member alongside current Delhi Cantonment MLA Surinder Singh, who defeated him in the 2013 Delhi Assembly Elections.