Nandita Narain elected DUTA president

August 31, 2013 12:00 am | Updated 05:31 am IST - New Delhi:

Left-affiliated Democratic Teachers’ Front (DTF) candidate Nandita Narain won the presidential elections of the Delhi University Teachers’ Association.

Ms. Narain, who has been a vocal critic of the implementation of the semester system and the four-year undergraduate programme, won the elections with 2,705 votes.

The mathematics professor of St. Stephen’s College defeated her closest competitor Ashwini Sarkar of Deshbandhu College, a candidate of Indian National Teachers’ Congress (INTEC) and Academics for Action and Development by over 700 votes.

Mr. Sarkar polled 1,909 votes.

“This mandate has justified the teachers’ movement against the nefarious policies of Delhi University Vice-Chancellor. Teachers in large numbers have voted against the four-year programme, which was implemented without any consultation,” former DUTA secretary S. D. Siddiqui said.

Two other candidates in fray — Pramod C. Sharma of Kirori Mal College and Shiba C. Panda of Satyawati College — received 818 and 561 votes, respectively.

Fifteen other Executive Council members were also elected from various teachers’ groups for which 22 candidates were in fray.

The council will now choose the vice-president, secretary, joint secretary and treasurer from among its members with nine votes required to win each post.

DTF, which has clinched the top post won four seats in the council —PTI

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.