Metro fares announced

NEW DELHI NOV. 24. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) today announced the fare structure for the Shahdara-Tis Hazari section of Metro rail which is expected to become operational by December end.

Commuters will have to pay between Rs. 4 and Rs. 7 to travel on this sector, an official release said. Other slabs are Rs. 5 and Rs. 6. The fare structure is such that traveling in a DTC bus would continue to be cheaper, but those commuting by a charter bus will have to pay less.

However, the time taken to travel the 8.6 km distance between Shahdara and Tis Hazari would be 13 minutes against the over 50 minutes taken by a public transport bus. This section of the Metro rail would have six stations -- Shahdara, Welcome, Seelampur, Shastri Park, Kashmere Gate and Tis Hazari. The Metro trains would begin their operations from 6 in the morning and would run up to 10 p.m. Passengers can also travel on the Metro rail by purchasing a Stored Value Smart card (travel card) or Token.

Available in the various denominations of Rs. 100, Rs. 200 and Rs. 500, the Smart Card can be used for multiple journey's and is valid for an year.

In addition to this, a Special Tourist Travel Smart Card can be purchased for multiple journey's valid for one or three days duration which will cost Rs. 50 and Rs. 150 respectively. Token's can be purchased by the public for single journey's, officials said. The entire ticketing system is fully automatic.

As per the Metro fare structure chart released by the DMRC, a commuter travelling between Kashmere Gate and Shastri Park would have to pay Rs. 4, while that for Seelampur, Welcome and Shahdara the fare would be Rs. 5, 6 and 7 respectively. Fare between Shahdara and Seelampur would be Rs. 5 and that between Seelampur and Tees Hazari would be Rs. 6.