‘State will be duly represented’

Special Correspondent

Panel on Telangana will continue work, says YSR

NEW DELHI: Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy said that the State will have sufficient representation in the Union Cabinet as the party won 33 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats from the State in the recently held polls.

Strong contingent

Dr. Reddy, who was here to attend the Congress Parliamentary Party meeting, said the Assembly committee set up to prepare a report on the Telangana issue would continue its work after the constitution of the new Assembly. Andhra Pradesh had 10 Ministers in the UPA government at one point of time and that was when the TRS, with its five MPs, was supporting the UPA.

Ministers in waiting

Of the 10 Ministers two were of Cabinet rank – S. Jaipal Reddy and K. Chandrasekhar Rao (TRS) -- one held the rank of Minister of State (independent charge) – Renuka Chowdhury -- and seven were with Minister of State rank – Jairam Ramesh, T. Subbarami Reddy, M.M. Pallamraju, Panabaka Lakshmi, D. Purandeswari, Dasari Narayana Rao and A. Narendra (TRS).

Sources said in the first instalment, this time Andhra Pradesh could get eight Ministers, including two with Cabinet rank. The names doing the rounds include S. Jaipal Reddy, Kishore Chandra Deo, Jairam Ramesh, K.V. P.Ramachandra Rao, Panabaka Lakshmi, D. Purandeswari, K. Sambasiva Rao and Sai Pratap.

YSR’s son in race?

The Chief Minister’s son, Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy’s name is also being considered, it is learnt.

Recommended for you