Delhi Metro Phase-IV will have six new corridors

Six new corridors will come up under Delhi Metro’s Phase-IV and with this the total Metro network in the Capital will soon cover over 400 kilometres. While the ongoing Phase-III of constructions is making the Metro network denser in the city, the next phase attempts to reach the farthest corners, said an official.

As per the detailed project report prepared and submitted to the Delhi Government and the Union Urban Development Ministry by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation for approval, the new corridors will traverse 103.93 kilometres, and is likely to come up by 2022.

As per the report, the new corridors proposed under Phase-IV include the 21.73 km stretch connecting Rithala to Narela, the West Janakpuri to R K Ashram which will be a 28.92 km corridor, Mukundpur to Maujpur (12.54 km), Inderlok to Indraprastha (12.58 km), Aero City to Tughlakabad (20.20 km) and Lajpat Nagar to Saket G Block (7.96 km).

According to the DPR, 67 new stations are expected to come up across these corridors, officials said.

With these planned expansions, the Delhi Metro is likely to reach Barwala, Bawana, Wazirabad, Mehrauli and Mahipalpur, and even the Delhi Secretariat, among other localities of the city. “As per the acquired experience, total work can be completed in 72 months period from date of start. The work should be started by April 2016, and various sections can be opened in phases by March 31, 2022,” a DMRC spokesperson said.

The Delhi Metro network is currently 190 km long. The on-going Phase-III will add 140 kms and the next phase will add over 100 kms and it is expected to benefit nearly 60 lakh commuters daily.

( With inputs from PTI)

Recommended for you