Congress publicity body formed

NEW DELHI NOV.1. The Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president, Chaudhary Prem Singh, today announced the constitution of the party's Publicity Committee for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

The Committee has been put in place after the approval of the Congress president, Sonia Gandhi, and would direct and guide the entire publicity campaign of the party during the polls.

According to the DPCC chief spokesman, Jagdish Tytler, the party has approved the name of Vishwa Bandhu Gupta as chairman of the Publicity Committee. Raj Kumar Kohli, presently DPCC vice-president, has been named co-chairman of the committee. Mr. Kohli is the front-runner for the party ticket from the Rajinder Nagar Assembly constituency, presently held by the BJP. Two sitting Congress MLAs, Arvinder Singh Lovely and Mukesh Sharma, have been members along with the DPCC general secretary, Rajinder Sharma, the vice-president, Harcharan Singh Josh, and the Pradesh Election Committee member, Ajit Chadha. In all, the Committee will have 39 members along with the chairman.

Meanwhile, the AICC secretary in-charge Delhi, Anil Shastri, today stated that no high-power committee had been formed to look into the election affairs regarding Delhi.

Recommended for you