Capital set to lose 400 MW of power

The Capital is set to lose nearly 400 MW of power starting midnight on Monday as the NHPC, NTPC and PGCIL have decided to regulate power supply to discom BSES for non-payment of dues.

Powergrid through its regulation notice dated February 11 has informed of a 100 per cent curtailment of power supply to BRPL and BYPL from identified inter-State stations except from Dadri to BRPL. BYPL will lose around 260 MW of power while BYPL stands to lose 160 MW. The power plants from where Delhi will lose out on its allocated share include Singrauli, Rihand-I, Rihand-II, Dadri-II, Chamera-I and Chamera-II.

Though the regulation is initially for a period of four months, sources told The Hindu that it can be extended if the companyfails to clear its dues.

NHPC has announced that the surplus power out of regulation of power supply by Powergrid to BSES will be sold in the power exchanges.

Powergrid has intimated that the Delhi State Load Dispatch Centre will ensure that power supply to sensitive and important installations like defence, medical, water supply, aviation, railways and installations of national importance are not affected on account of this regulation.

Earlier this month on February 12, NTPC had announced that it will suspend supply to BSES for non-payment of dues.

Power companies to regulate supply due to non-payment of dues by BSES