BJP panel to prepare `chargesheet' against Govt.

NEW DELHI APRIL 15. The Delhi Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party chief, Madan Lal Khurana, has constituted a nine-member committee under the chairmanship of the Leader of the Opposition in the Delhi Assembly, Jagdish Mukhi, to prepare a chargesheet over "total failure'' of the Sheila Dikshit Government during the past four and a half years of its rule.

According to Mr. Khurana, the main features of the chargesheet would be "non-fulfilment of the promises made in the Congress manifesto, rampant corruption and criminalisation of polity''. The committee would submit its report within a fortnight, he added.

The other members of the committee are: the Leader of the Opposition in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, Subhash Arya; the State BJP vice-president, Surender Pal Ratawal; the general secretary, Nand Kishore Garg; the chief spokesperson, Mewa Ram Arya; the secretary, <243>Vijendra Gupta; the New Delhi Municipal <243>Council Vice-Chairman, Ram Bhaj; the Mahila Morcha president and former Mayor, Meera Kanwaria; and State Yuva Morcha chief, Satish Upadhyaya.

Releasing a resolution adopted at the meeting, the party spokesman, M.R. Arya, charged that the Delhi Government had failed on all fronts. "Ever increasing electricity crisis, scarcity of potable water, deteriorating transport system, pitiable condition of sewerage and increasing pollution, closure of small scale industries and increasing unemployment were some of the glaring examples of incompetence of the Sheila Dikshit Government,'' he said.

The meeting also decided to launch a mass agitation against the ''corrupt and incompetent'' State Government.

Recommended for you