Planning Commission members to resign shortly

New Delhi: Planning Commission members are likely to submit their resignations to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in a day or two following the end of five-year term of the present government.

“We are ready to resign. We have already drafted our resignation letters. It is likely to be sent to the Prime Minister on Monday,” Commission Member Abhijit Sen said.

Another Commission member, B. Mungekar, also said he would shortly send his resignation to the Prime Minister.

“We will send our resignation to the Prime Minister either on Sunday evening or Monday as our tenure is over,” he said, adding “I express gratitude to the Prime Minister for giving me an opportunity to serve the nation as well as frame policies as a member.”

As a tradition, Planning Commission members, who are appointed by the Prime Minister, resign on completion of the term of the government.

The Commission will be reconstituted by the new government which would assume office shortly.

After taking over as the Prime Minister in 2004, Dr. Singh constituted the Commission with Montek Singh Ahluwalia as Deputy Chairman and other members including Abhijit Sen, B. Mungekar, Kirit Parekh, Anwarul Hoda, Sayeeda Hameed and B.N. Yugandhar. — PTI

Recommended for you