Delhi gets a new Mayor

All smiles: Newly elected Mayor of Delhi Kanwar Sain (left) along with Deputy Mayor Chowdhry Azad Singh on Thursday.

All smiles: Newly elected Mayor of Delhi Kanwar Sain (left) along with Deputy Mayor Chowdhry Azad Singh on Thursday.   | Photo Credit: - Photo: Shanker Chakravarty

Staff Reporter

Azad Singh, brother of Sahib Singh Verma, is Deputy Mayor

NEW DELHI: Defeating his Congress rival Darshana Jatav by a margin of over 100 votes, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party councillor Dr. Kanwar Sain was elected to take over as the 23rd Mayor of Delhi at the Municipal Corporation of Delhi headquarters in Town Hall on Thursday.

While Bhogal councillor Ms. Jatav secured 73 votes, Mr. Sain, who is the councillor from Vishwas Nagar, won comfortably with a total of 182 votes polled in his favour out of the 255 valid votes cast. After being elected, Dr. Sain said his focus as the new Mayor of Delhi would be to bring an “efficient, accountable, progressive and e-governance enabled rule” in the civic body by taking along all parties and the media.

Dr. Sain, who is an MBBS doctor by qualification and has been holding the post of Chairman of the Ward Committee of Shahdara South for the past two years, succeeds Arti Mehra who served the last two consecutive terms as the Delhi Mayor. As per rules, the post this year was reserved for a candidate from the Scheduled Castes.

Born in Ibrahimpur Majra village in Uttar Pradesh, Mr. Sain did his B.Sc. from Delhi University’s Kirori Mal College and got his MBBS degree from Maulana Azad Medical College in 1980. He worked as resident medical officer at LNJP and G. B. Pant hospitals before starting private practice in 1983. He has also been associated with the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh since 1981.

The BJP councillor from Mundka, Azad Singh, who is also the brother of the late Delhi Chief Minister Sahib Singh Verma, was elected the Deputy Mayor without voting as the Leader of Opposition Jai Kishan Sharma did not press for polling after accepting the verdict of the Mayor’s election for the Deputy Mayor’s election as well. The Congress had fielded Amrit Lal Singhal for the post.

Election for the three posts of member of the Standing Committee of the MCD was also held on Thursday and Ram Kishan Singhal and Suman Gupta of the BJP and Raziya Sultana of the Congress were declared elected to the post after the fourth contender from the BSP, Surjeet Singh, withdrew from the contest.

Recommended for you