Sree Narayana Jayanti boat race

Staff Reporter

KOTTAYAM: The 151st Sree Narayana Jayanti celebrations will be held with various functions in the district on Saturday

The high point of the celebrations will be the more than a century old Sree Narayana Jayanthi boat race at Kottathode, Kumarakom.

The boat race marks the anniversary of the sage's arrival to Kumarakom in 1903 to consecrate the Sree Kumaramangalom temple.

The boat race would commence with a `jalakhosha yatra' which would be flagged off from the temple to Kottathode at 1.30 p.m.

The boat race, in which this year's Nehru Trophy winner Payippadu Chundan will also participate, will be inaugurated by Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, Minister for Irrigation and Forests, at 2.30 p.m.

The SNDP branches in the district have also scheduled jayanthi celebrations.

The thazhathangadi branch will begin the day with flag hoisting at 7 a.m..

This will be followed by a procession, gurupuja, floral tribute, cultural competitions and public meetings.

The Karappuzha branch will distribute educational scholarships on the occasion.

Celebrations have been planned by Arpookkara (South), Moolavattom, Olassa, and other branches.

Recommended for you