SPB and Mary Kom among awardees

June 18, 2018 12:00 am | Updated 04:57 am IST - Thrissur

V.C. Padmanabhan Memorial awards

Singer S.P. Balasubrahmanyam and Olympic boxer M.C. Mary Kom are among the winners of V.C. Padmanabhan Memorial Awards for Excellence for the year 2018. The Awards carry a cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh and a trophy.

The awards were instituted in 2010 to commemorate the founder of the Manappuram Group. They are presented every year to eminent personalities who have made significant contribution in the fields of arts and literature; Civil Servant achieving excellence in public administration; public representative achieving excellence in good governance; business excellence leading to development of society at large, and ecology and environment conservation. A new category called ‘excellence in sports and games’ was added in 2018.

Other award winners are: Arundhati Bhattacharya, chairperson, SEBI MF advisory committee & former chairman, State Bank of India; and V.J. Kurian, managing director, Cochin International Airport Ltd.

Function on June 19

The awards will be presented at a function to be held on June 19 at the Lulu International Convention Centre, Thrissur. Former judge of the Supreme Court Cyriac Joseph will be the chief guest.

Ms. Bhattacharya will deliver the V.C. Padmanabhan memorial annual lecture on ‘Modernising the Legacy—My Experiences at SBI.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.