Sabarimala melsanthi: preliminary list ready

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM Oct. 5. The preliminary lists from which the melsanthis of the Sabarimala and the Malikappuram temples for the coming one year term will be selected have been released by the Travancore Devaswom Board (TDB).

The lists were prepared after the applicants were interviewed by N. Babu, TDB president, and D. Sasidharan and Charupara Ravi, members of the Board, and Brahmasri Kantararu Neelakantaru and Kantararu Maheswararu contains nine persons each.

Those who figure in the list for the Sabarimala temple are T. K. Sreedharan Namboodiri, P. G. Mohanan Potti, P. Damodaran Namboodiri, Perikamana Sankaranarayanan Namboodiri, K. P. Devadas Namboodiri, V. Muraleedharan Namboodiri, N. Vishnu Namboodiri, C. P. Vasudevan Namboodiri and E. Ravirajan Potti. The names in the list for the Malikappuram temple are T. K. Easwaran, A. Govindan Potti, N. Damodaran Potti, K. Sankaran Namboodiri, S. Janardhanan Embran, P. Gopalakrishnan Namboodiri, K. N. Sreenivasan Potti, K. R. Unnkrishnan Potti and N. Unnkrishnan Namboodiri.

The final selection will be made through draw-of-lots at Sannidhanam on the Malayalam month of Thulam 1 (October18).

Meanwhile, the TDB has decided to conduct naveekarana kalasam and ashtabandha kalasam at the Sabarimala shrine as a prelude to the scheme for providing food to the pilgrims being launched by it. The shrine which is being opened on October 17 for the five-day Thula masa poojas, will be kept open for four more days for the purpose. The daily poojas held during the masa pooja will be held on these four days also. The devotees will be allowed to worship at the temple on these days also. Special poojas like udayasthamana pooja, padipooja and kalabhabhishekam will also be held on all days. The shrine will be closed on October 26.

Recommended for you