Polling officers for Lakshadweep from Kerala

KOCHI, APRIL 24. The Election Commissioner, B.B.Tandon, has said that all the polling officers for booths in the Union Territory of Lakshadweep would be deputed from Kerala this time.

Talking to reporters at Nedumbassery while returning after reviewing the poll preparations in the Union Territory of Lakshadweep, Mr. Tandon said the deputed officers would be given training in Ernakulam on May 3.

He said the Union Territory was the smallest constituency in the country, with just 40 polling booths.

He said that there was some law and order problem at the island of Amini, but it was under control and the police was keeping strict vigil.

Mr. Tandon who was on his way to New Delhi, also held a review meeting of the poll preparations for the Ernakulam and Muvattupuzha constituencies with top officials including the Principal Secretary and the Chief Electoral Officer, P.J.Thomas, the District Collector and Returning Officer, Gyanesh Kumar, the DIG, Mohammed Yasin, the IG, V.R Rajeevan, the City Police Commissioner, Vinod Thomas, the SP (Rural), B. Shamsuddin, and six election observers from the two constituencies.

Mr. Tandon expressed satisfaction at the preparations in Ernakulam district. Things were well under control, said he. Responding to a question regarding the `sensitive spots' in the State, Mr. Tandon said that the process of identifying such spots was going on. He said the process of distributing photo identity cards to the voters was almost complete in the State. Mr. Gyanesh Kumar said distribution of cards in the district was almost 99.99 per cent complete.

Mr. Tandon said that he had not yet received any formal complaint regarding the Chief Minister, A.K.Antony's `Navothana yathra' which has started from Kasaragod. He said that the complaint raised by the BJP had come to his notice from newspaper reports, but no official complaint had yet been lodged.

Recommended for you