Number of voters falls in Kollam, Adoor

KOLLAM, APRIL 24. There has been a drop of more than one lakh voters in the Kollam and Adoor Lok Sabha constituencies this time compared to the 1999 Lok Sabha election. While the number of voters in the Kollam Lok Sabha constituency in 1999 was 10,87,711 this time it has fallen to 10,32,366. Likewise in the Adoor Lok Sabha constituency, the number of voters in 1999 was 10,06,963. It has dropped to 9, 60,310 this time.

The new voters list was formally published today. In Kollam, there are 4,90,678 male voters and 5,41,688 female voters.

The corresponding figures for Adoor are 4,51,933 and 5,08,377. The Kollam constituency has 3,566 service voters and Adoor 3,730 service voters.

From the 50,178 fresh applications received to be included in the Kollam and Adoor voters list, 15, 926 applications were rejected and 34,252 were found eligible to be added to the voters list.

Meanwhile, following today's scrutiny of nomination papers, the nomination of one candidate from Kollam and two from Adoor have been rejected. Sixteen remain in the fray in the two constituencies. The break-up being 10 in Kollam and six in Adoor. The final list of candidates would be published on April 26.

Nine valid in Mavelikara

The Returning Officer for the Mavelikara Lok Sabha constituency, Rabeendra Kumar Agarwal, has dismissed the nominations of K.S. Tharanathan and Saji, dummy candidates of the BJP and CPI(M) respectively, leaving a total of nine valid papers after the scrutiny held at 11 a.m. today.

According to Mr. Agarwal, the valid nominations are that of S. Krishnakumar (BJP), Ramesh Chennithala (Congress), C.S. Sujatha (CPI-M), Saji Kunjukutty (BSP), Zacharia (Social Action Party), R. Kavitha, K. Kishore Kumar, Radhamony and Vijayan, all independents.

The deadline for withdrawal of nominations is 3 p.m. on April 26.

Voters list published

With the expiry of deadline for updating the electoral roll on Friday, Mr. Agarwal published the voters list of the Mavelikara Lok Sabha constituency today. According to him, the total number of voters in the constituency has been placed at 8,64,235 which include 19,759 new voters. Of this, 4,02,736 are male and 4,61,499 female. The constituency will have 843 polling stations. The voter strength with number of polling booths in each Assembly segment is given below: Assembly segment, voters, number of booths: Kayamkulam; 1,27,910; 139, Thiruvalla; 1,14,797; 94, Kallooppara; 1,13,256; 92.

Aranmula; 1,10,998; 92, Chengannur; 1,21,099; 116, Mavelikara; 1,31,756; 147, Pandalam; 1,44,439; 163.

Mr. Agarwal said the total number of service voters in the constituency is 7,381.

Recommended for you