Nine nominations valid in Kottayam

KOTTAYAM, APRIL 24. With the scrutiny of the nomination papers over today, nine candidates including the LDF dummy candidate, are left in the fray in the Kottayam Parliamentary constituency.

All the nomination papers filed have been found in order, according to District Election Officer.

The following are the candidates: K Suresh Kurup (CPI-M), Anto Antony (Congress); B Radhakrishna Menon (BJP), Jacob John (BSP), Jose Varghese (Janata Dal-U), Chacko Devasya, M.K. Dasan and Mini K. Philip, all Independent. P.K. Harikumar is the CPI(M) dummy candidate.

Meanwhile, with the publication of the final voters list today, the total number of voters in the constituency is 9,62,241.

Of this, 4,77,045 are men and 4,85,196, women. There are 1,645 service voters. There are 991 booths in the constituency, Puthuppally topping the list with 159 booths.

The following is the break-up of voters in the seven Assembly segments constituting the Parliamentary constituency. The total number of voters at Vazhoor is 1,19,657 out of which 60,792 are women.

At Changanassery the total voters are 1,41,506 of which 72,215 are women. Kottayam has 1,46,276 voters of which 74,215 are women while Ettumanur has 1,37,252 voters among whom 68,724 are women. The number of voters at Puthuppally segment is 1,50,537 of which 76,027 are women.

aduthuruthy has 1,29,685 voters with the number of women voters put at 63,826 and Vaikom has 1,38,973 voters, the number of women voters being 69,397.

The total number of voters in Kottayam revenue district, including the Pala, Poonjar and Kanjirappally Assembly segments which fall under the Muvattupuzha Lok Sabha constituency, as per the final list published, is 13, 59,367. There are 6,74 ,844 men and 6,82,469 women voters. There are 2,054 service voters. Pala has 1,28,013 voters, Poojar 1,25,226 and Kanjirappally, 1,42,242 voters.

9 in Thrissur, 10 in Mukundapuram

Nineteen candidates will contest the Lok Sabha elections from the Thrissur (9) and Mukundapuram (10) constituencies, according to an official press release from the District Collector and Returning Officer, V.M. Gopala Menon.

As the nominations filed by C.K. Chandrappan (CPI) and P. S. Sreeraman (BJP) have been validated, those submitted by the dummy candidates, A.M. Paraman and M.G. Pushpangadan, have been rejected. The nomination filed by the Shiv Sena candidate in Mukundapuram, T.S. Baiju, has also been rejected. The last date for withdrawing nominations is April 26.

Nominations of 11 candidates in the byelection to the Wadakkanchery Assembly seat have been validated, according to a press release from the Revenue Divisional Officer, T. V. Parameswaran. He sought more details about the nomination by the Independent candidate, Moideen.

As the nominations filed by the BJP and CPI(M) candidates have been validated, those by dummy candidates, E. Chandran and A. Padmanabhan, have been rejected, the release said.

Nine in Alappuzha

As many as nine candidates remain in the fray in the Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency after the scrutiny of nomination papers held today at the collectorate.

The nomination papers of two candidates were rejected in today's scrutiny. Those rejected were that of R. Nazar, who was the dummy candidate of the CPI(M), and Gopalakrishnan Nair, who was the dummy candidate of the BJP.

The scrutiny was conducted by the District Collector, K.M. Ramanandan, in the presence of the observers of the election commission, B.L. Arya, K.R. Sasidhar and Aravind Kaushal, and representatives of political parties who included the MLA, T.K. Devakumar of the CPI(M), the Alappuzha DCC president, C.R. Jayaprakash, and the BJP leader, V. Padmanabhan.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination is April 26. Candidates who wanted to withdraw their nomination should do so before 3 p.m. on the day, said an official release.

Recommended for you