CPI(M) giving final shape to candidates' list

Staff Reporter

To field candidates in seven seats

Kozhikode: The Kozhikode district committee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) is giving final shape to the list of candidates for the Assembly elections in the district.

The party will field candidates in at least seven out of the 12 seats and leave the rest to its constituents, including the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Janata Dal (Secular).

Some of the probable candidates are Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI) State secretary A Pradeep Kumar, CITU State secretary Elamaram Kareem and CPI(M) Control Commission chairman, C.P. Balan Vaidyar. Mr. Pradeep Kumar is being considered for the Kozhikode-I constituency, Mr. Kareem for the Beypore seat and Mr. Balan Vaidyar for the Kunnamangalam seat. The district committee held meetings on Friday and Saturday to discuss the issue.

The issue of fielding Thottathil Raveendran, former Mayor, for the Kozhikode-I constituency was discussed among the party circles. However, party sources said that his candidature was doubtful. Mr. Raveendran, who had been a councillor three times, did not contest the local body polls held in September 2005.

The party leadership had given a thought then of elevating him to contest the coming Assembly elections.

Even Mr. Raveendran's detractors in the UDF and BJP had hailed his contributions in implementing several innovative schemes for the development of the city. Party workers believe his chance of capturing the Kozhikode-I constituency from the Congress party is high. Minister for Environment and Forests A. Sujanapal is the sitting MLA from this constituency.

The party is also weighing options of fielding the former MLA P. Viswan from the Koilandy constituency. Sitting MLA from Meppayur Mathai Chacko is likely to be shifted Thiruvambady constituency. District secretary of the All India Democratic Women's Association K.K. Lathika will be considered for the Meppayur seat. The Perambra Assembly seat is likely to be given to K. Kunhammed, former block panchayat president.