CPI also to go in for brainstorming

Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: It is not just the CPI(M) that is putting on its collective thinking cap to evolve a new development paradigm for the State. The CPI too is planning to do so through a major three-day brainstorming exercise on governance and development.

If the CPI(M) is doing its exercise under the aegis of the AKG Centre for Research and Studies from December 9 to 11,the CPI is going to do so under the banner of the C. Achutha Menon Foundation from December 8 to 10. The AKG Centre-sponsored `International Congress on Kerala Studies' is an all embracing initiative covering almost the gamut of issues relating to Kerala economy and society. The Achutha Menon Centre has chosen to limit itself to issues of governance and development and how globalisation has impacted Kerala.

It is certainly not a competitive exercise between the two fraternal parties and there are some common speakers in both the conferences.

In keeping with its smaller scale, the CPI initiative, to be inaugurated by Governor R. L. Bhatia, would have only four sessions and would conclude with a valedictory address by CPI(M) Polit Bureau member S. Ramachandran Pillai. The Governor would dedicate the seminar hall at the Achutha Menon Foundation office here to the memory of the late K. V. Surendranath at the inaugural function on December 8.

One significant speaker at the CPI meet would be M. P. Parameswaran. He would present the theme paper in the session on `Governance and Development: Conflicts, Controversies and Challenges.' His paper has been titled `From People's Plan to People's Governance,' a theme that had touched off a major debate in Kerala recently. Noted economist K. Ramachandarn Nair would present the main theme paper of the conference. Others expected to speak at the conference include former civil servants, academics, activists and planners such as V. Ramachandran, M. G. S. Narayanan, N. R. Madhava Menon, P. R. Gopinathan Nair, M. A. Oommen, K. K. George, C. P. John, B. Ekbal, M. Kunhaman, G. Vijayaraghavan, Mohan Gopal and R. V. G. Menon.