BJP increases its vote share in district

Comes second in 20 city divisions

Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has registered an increase in its vote share in Thiruvananthapuram district in the just concluded elections to the local bodies.

Apart from winning a seat in the Thiruvananthapuram Corporation, the BJP has managed to come second in nearly 20 divisions in the city. In all these wards where the LDF won, the UDF has been pushed to the third place.

In the outgoing council too, the BJP had one member, apart from three others, belonging to the Hindu Munnani, who were supported by the party. The BJP lost its sitting division, Vellar, to the CPI, but compensated for it by wresting the Pachalloor division, defeating the sitting councillor of the CPI(M).

The corporation wards where the BJP is sitting pretty in the second position are Karikkakam, Vazhuthacaud, Kamaleswaram, Ponnumangalam, Melamcode, Vellar, Muttathara, Palkulangara, Perumthanni, Sreevarahom, Manacaud, Fort, Chala, Arannoor, Poojappura, PTP Nagar, Valiyasala, Attukal and Pazhanchira.

The DIC(K) won in three of these divisions.

In the Chala ward, an Independent candidate trounced the candidates of both the major fronts. In the Neyyattinkara and Attingal municipalities also, the BJP has representation in the form of one councillor each.

Even though its performance in the Varkala municipality was not quite impressive, in Nedumangad, the BJP managed to come second in one division, where it lost by a margin of 18 votes.

At the grama panchayat level, the BJP has 57 members, according to its district president, Vellanchira Somasekharan. In five to six panchayats in the district, the BJP has come to be the deciding factor. .

In several panchayat wards, it was either by draw of lots or by a very slender margin that the BJP candidates lost, Mr. Somasekharan said.

Recommended for you