Three to represent State in world arm-wrestling meet

Staff Reporter

Another 10 cannot participate due to lack of sponsorship

‘Kerala has been winning the national championship for

eight years’

Association to begin college-level competitions

KOCHI: What they do outside the competition ring might not reflect their talent. But they are now champions representing the State at an international-level competition.

Three arm-wrestling champions from the State, Snibu S. Ravi, a head load worker in Ernakulam market; Sajish P.V., an employee in a private firm here; and Shoukat V.T., an autorickshaw driver from Kozhikode; will participate in the World Championship in Canada, starting from November 29.

Introducing the participants, Joji Elloor, president of the Ernakulam District Arm Wrestling Association, said that only three of the 13 who got selections for the championship would be participating in the meet as sponsorship for the sport was very hard to come by.

He said that it was because of the encouragement and major contributions from Elder Pharma, the manufacturers of Tiger Balm; Fortis Health Care, New Delhi and K. K. Mohan, a trader from Mattancherry, that at least three champions will be able to attend the championship. Also, contributions from Muthoot Pappachan group; J.P. Group, New Delhi; Mahindra Logistics; Regal Constructions; and J.M. Baxi & Co helped to arrange for the travel needs of the participants. Mukund Kumar, who runs Life Gymnasium at Edappally, is providing the training facilities for the champions.

According to Mr. Elloor, no financial aid was forthcoming from the government as the sport has not been recognised by the Sports Council. However, we have moved representations to get the sport recognised, he said.

‘Olympic event’

He said that the State had been winning the national championship in arm wresting for the last eight years. There is also a move to include arm wrestling in the 2012 Olympics, he said.

Mr. Elloor said that the association would be introducing arm wrestling as an inter-college championship from 2009.

Recommended for you