Shared win in district

Special Correspondent

Thiruvananthapuram votes for UDF’s Tharoor

LDF candidate Sampath wins from Attingal

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Thiruvananthapuram and Attingal segments in the district, which witnessed a fierce fighting right from the beginning of the campaign, returned United Democratic Front candidate Shashi Tharoor from Thiruvananthapuram and LDF candidate A. Sampath from Attingal segment to the 15th Lok Sabha.

Mr. Tharoor was elected with a margin of 99,998 votes and Mr. Sampath, with 18,341 votes.

Mr. Tharoor secured 3,26,725 votes and his nearest rival P. Ramachandran Nair of the Left Democratic Front got 2,26,727 votes.

Other candidates

BSP candidate A. Neelalohitadasan Nadar came third with 86,233 votes and P.K. Krishnadas of the BJP finished fourth with 84094 votes.

Mr. Tharoor made substantial gains in Vattiyoorkavu Assembly segment with 51,692 votes, Thiruvananthapuram with 49,366 votes, Parassala 47,936 and Kovalam with 47,047 votes.

Mr. Ramachandran Nair got the highest score of 36,002 votes in Parassala and the lowest of 25,850 votes in Neyyattinkara.

Mr. Neelalohitadasan recorded the highest score of 24,320 in Kovalam followed by 22,661 in Neyyattinkara and 21,135 in Parassala.

Mr. Krishnadas registered a tally of 15,735 votes in Parassala Assembly segment and polled his lowest of 9,439 in Kovalam. Mr. Krishnadas fared well in Vattiyoorkavu and Thiruvananthapuram Assembly constituencies where he got 12,934 and 11,589 votes.

Comfortable lead

Mr. Tharoor had been maintaining a comfortable lead consistently.

Though Mr. Neelalohitadasan was expected to make deep inroads into the UDF and LDF bastions in the constituency, it was limited to three constituencies and it did not affect the prospects of Mr. Tharoor.

Close contest

Mr. Sampath, who emerged victorious in Attingal, got 3,28,036 votes. UDF’s G. Balachandran polled 3,09,695 votes. BJP candidate Thottakkad Sasi, who came third, got 47,620 votes.

Mr. Sampath secured 52,778 votes in Attingal followed by 49,435 votes in Chirayinkeezh, 49,369 in Vamanapuram and 48,231 in Nedumangad.

Mr. Balachandran got the highest number of votes in Vamanapuram 49,351.

This was followed by Aruvikkara where he got 47,110 votes, Nedumangad 46,380, Kattakada 44,825 and Attingal, 41,145 votes. It was a neck and neck race between the two candidates in Vamanapuram, Aruvikkara and Kattakada. Mr. Balachandran was slightly ahead of Mr. Sampath in the three constituencies as counting progressed.

But the margin in the other constituencies worked to the advantage of Mr. Sampath.

Recommended for you