Raman Pillai floats Janapaksham

NEW PLATFORM: The BJP leader K. Raman Pillai announcing the formation of a new organisation in Kochi on Tuesday.

NEW PLATFORM: The BJP leader K. Raman Pillai announcing the formation of a new organisation in Kochi on Tuesday.  

Staff Reporter

New organisation to oppose corruption, communalism

KOCHI: Senior BJP leader K. Raman Pillai announced the formation of a new organisation, Janapaksham, here on Tuesday.

At a press conference here, he said it would be a socio-cultural organisation aimed at opposing corruption, communalism and other social maladies. The organisation would have similar ideals that Jayaprakash Narayanan (`JP') had nurtured in the past, he said. (He hinted at the possibility of changing the name of the organisation when his attention was sought to the fact that another organisation was functioning under the same name).

Claims support

Mr. Raman Pillai, who had earlier expressed his discontentment with the present State leadership of BJP, said he had the support of former BJP president P.S. Sreedharan Pillai and senior leader O. Rajagopal. Several leaders of the BJP are part of the new organisation. They include Mohan Sankar, Sobha Surendran and Ettumanoor Radhakrishnan, etc., he said.

The organisation was not intended to play a political role in general elections, but it would take up issues of political relevance. The issue pertaining to the probe on SNC Lavalin deal, for instance, needed public attention, he said. He explained that the new organisation would be rooted in Indian culture and tradition.

Asked whether he was challenging the party leadership, he said he did not intend to do so. To a question whether the party would take disciplinary action against him, he said it was for the party to decide. He was not afraid of such actions, he said.

The organisation would have an advisory committee consisting of leaders such as M. Devaki Amma, P.R. Nambiar, K.R. Raghavan, Parameswaran Pillai, Chennithala Gopalakrishnan Nair and Madhusoodanan Nair. A working committee was formed and its members include Manjeri Narayanan, Syamala Prabhu, B.N. Unni, P.D. Purushothaman Master and Ramakrishna Pillai. Other office-bearers include K. Premnath, P.V. Sathyan, G. Vijayanath, Mannar Satish, P. Varghese, Vasu Master and Mohammed Ashraf.

About 100 representatives took part.

Recommended for you