NPOL celebrates annual day

Staff Reporter

Kochi: The Naval Physical and Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL), Thrikkakara, the only Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) laboratory in the State, held its annual day function at Anjali Community Hall, Varuna Campus at NPOL on Friday. Commodore (Retd) M. Jitendran, Chairman and Managing Director of Cochin Shipyard Ltd, was the chief guest.

Highlighting the tremendous growth of the shipyard, Commodore Jitendran outlined its avenues of cooperation with NPOL. S. Anantha Narayanan, Director, NPOL, thanked the family members of NPOL employees for providing emotional support to the officers and staff that played a major role in the laboratory realising success in development, trials and induction of many systems.

The chief guest presented awards to officers and staff who gave excellent performance in various fields of the laboratory’s activities during the current year. The awards included the Laboratory Scientist of the Year conferred on S.K. Shenoi and Thomas Antony.

Geetha Anantha Narayanan, the first lady of NPOL, gave away prizes to winners of annual sports meet held on Thursday. G. Nishanth, M. N. Nair, Aliyamma Shajumon and Pushpa Abraham won the individual championships in sports and games.

As the function drew to a close, scientists, officers and staff of the NPOLlit hundreds of candles and took a solidarity pledge against terrorism.