Lalithakala Akademi awards announced

Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Four painters and a sculptor have been selected for the State Awards of the Kerala Lalithakala Akademi for 2007.

Minister for Cultural Affairs M.A. Baby, akademi chairman C.N. Karunakaran and secretary Sathyapal announced the awards at a press conference here on Wednesday.

Painters G. Asok kumar, P. Suvarna, P.V. Nandan and T. Rathidevi, and sculptor V.J. Robert are the winners of the award which carries a purse of Rs.15,000 and a citation each.

Kavitha Balakrishnan has been selected for the award for the author of the best work in the section of art history and criticism. The award carries a cash prize of Rs.10,000 and a citation.

Painters R. Suresh, Asanthan, Tholil Suresh and J.V. Vigil Kumar and sculptor Leelamani Pillai have been selected for the `Honourable Mention' awards, carrying a purse of Rs.5,000 each.

In the students' category, Yamini Mohan of the College of Fine Arts, Thiruvananthapuram, Hariprasad and Anoop Antony of the Raja Ravi Varma College of Fine Arts, Mavelikkara, Najiya Ummer of the College of Fine Arts, Thrissur, and Jalajamol of the RLV College of Fine Arts, Thripunithura, are the winners of the `Special Mention' awards. They will be awarded a cash prize of Rs.3,000 each.

K.T. Mathai of Ernakulam has been selected for the Sankara Menon Endowment gold medal and Rajan Kadalundi for the Vijayaraghavan Endowment gold medal.

The akademi chairman said the awards would be distributed at a function to at the Durbar Hall, Ernakulam from June 10.

Recommended for you