LDF member elected Eraviperoor grama panchayat president

Staff Reporter

With support of a Congress member

BJP members abstain from casting their votesUDF has six members in the 16-member panchayat

PATHANAMTHITTA: Jeena Thomas of the Left Democratic Front (LDF) has been elected president of the Eraviperoor grama panchayat with the support of a Congress member Vijayan Babu who had shifted his loyalty to the LDF.

The elections were held at the panchayat conference hall on Tuesday.

One vote margin

Ms. Thomas defeated Jiji John Mathew, United Democratic Front (UDF) member and former panchayat president, by a margin of one vote when all the three BJP members in the local body refrained from casting their votes in the forenoon.

The UDF has six members in the 16-member panchayat committee.

The strength of the LDF in the panchayat committee has gone up to seven with Mr. Vijayan Babu shifting allegiance.

Meanwhile, BJP member Jaya Suresh was elected panchayat vice-president with the UDF support in the afternoon. She defeated . Vijayan Babu by a margin of two votes.

Non-confidence motion

The election was held following the ouster of the former president Jiji John Mathew and vice-president Sunil Mattathil, both UDF members, through a non-confidence motion moved by the LDF with the support of the BJP on December 15.

Recommended for you