Government indulging in religious discrimination: Kummanam

Staff Reporter

`Has not taken over administrative control of churches, mosques'

KOCHI: The State Government is indulging in religious discrimination while taking over control of religious institutions of worship, said Hindu Aikyavedi State general secretary Kummanam Rajasekharan on Sunday.

He was speaking at the Vishlala Hindu Sammelan, organised as part of the Sree Guruji Birth Centenary celebrations, in the city.

With the promulgation of the Devaswom ordinance, nearly 1,800 temples had come under the control of the Government. Though there were several issues related to the administration and management of churches and mosques in the State, the Government had not dared to take over their administrative control.

It had not taken control of the 108 churches that had been closed down owing to disputes, but had wrested the control of the temples. This amounted to religious discrimination, he said.

The Government took over the administration of the temples only because it belonged to Hindus. The motive was to appoint partymen at key posts related to temple administration.

If corruption in the affairs of the temples was what had prompted the Government to act, it should have made use of the existing anti-corruption laws and the services of agencies such as the Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau to check corruption, he said.

Following the promulgation of the ordinance, a situation had come where the conduct of temple festivals such as Sivaratri has fallen on the shoulders of the Government.

A secular Government should think whether it was advisable for it to act in such a manner, he said.

A resolution adopted at the meeting urged the Government to withdraw from the move to wrest the control of Hindu temples, maths and ashrams, to name the international airport at Nedumbassery after Sankaracharya and to install a statue of Thunchathu Ezhuthachan at Tirur.

Swami Satyananda Saraswathi of Chinmaya Mission inaugurated the conference and lighted the `Hindu unity lamp.'

V. Nityananda Bhat, chairman of the celebration committee, presided.

K.C. Kannan, Akhila Bharatiya Saha Sareerik Sikshan Pramukh of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh spoke.

Recommended for you