GIDA to allot funds for islands

Staff Reporter

KOCHI: A meeting of the general council of the Goshree Islands Development Authority (GIDA) has decided to allot from its fund Rs.1 crore each to eight panchayats under it as a prelude to drawing up a master plan for the development of the islands.

The fund would be utilised for housing and infrastructure development-related projects. Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan presided over the meeting held at Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday.

Pallipuram, Kuzhupilly, Nayarambalam, Kadamakkudy, Edavanakkad, Njarakkal, Elamkunnapuzha, and Mulavukad panchayats will receive the benefit of the development funds.

The meeting approved Rs.31 crore for the construction of the Kothad-Chennoor bridge. Kitco had been entrusted with preparing a detailed project report on this and for a modernisation project conceived by Cherai Devaswom.

An outer bund would be constructed to prevent the inundation in Thanthonnithuruthu and Vallarpadam islands caused by high tide. An assistance of Rs.5 crore was granted for the Goshree-Chathyath Road.

Approval was granted to the drinking water supply, power supply, and garbage disposal schemes proposed at the Mulavukad Health Centre.

Approval was given to a revised estimate of Rs.16.88 crore for the drinking water supply scheme in Kadamakkudy panchayat.

Fisheries Minister S. Sarma informed the meeting that sanction for the proposed coastal highway was likely from the Centre now that the project had found a place in the list of the National Highways Authority of India.

The meeting was told that the Centre for Earth Science Studies had submitted an interim report on the proposed Moolamppilly-Chathanad Road, sanction for which was withheld by the Union Ministry for Environment on the ground that it would adversely affect the pokkali field in the area. CESS was roped in to make detailed studies so as to secure permission of the ministry. A final report was expected shortly.

Minister for Local Self-government Paloli Mohammed Kutty, M.K. Purushothaman, MLA, Mayor Mercy Williams, District Panchayat president P.S. Shyla, Greater Cochin Development Authority chairperson M.C. Josephine, District Collector M. Beena, panchayat presidents, secretaries and officials of the various departments were present.

Recommended for you